Melissa Gremore-Operations Project Specialist

How long have you been with InCheck? 9 years.

Where are you from originally? West Allis! I live in New Berlin now.

Where did you go to school? Wisconsin Lutheran High school.

What does your job entail? I basically review and approve all of the invoices that come in from our vendors for every department- drug testing, crim, verifications. I then ensure that what we ordered from them is being received and that we are getting charged correctly. I also make sure that we are charging the client correctly and making any necessary corrections on all of that. I also take care of MVR(motor vehicle record) questions that clients may have, as well as monitor their employees for them!

What is your favorite part of your job? I like the diversity of the job. I know it kind of sounds the same, like I go through all of the invoices and stuff, but being able to find an invoice where you can say, “Hey, we didn’t order this” or “Hey, this isn’t our person” is different and makes each day different. I have also helped close verifications that are at ready, and will be given special projects from time to time. I like the people too, haha.    

Which one of InCheck’s five core values do you feel most connected with [Positivity, Loyalty, Excellence, Innovation, Persistence]?  I feel connected to all of them. I guess my biggest thing would be the excellence. You know, from the first day that I started, to managing the Verifications team years ago, to where I am now, I have always given 100%. I have always gone above and beyond probably what they wanted me to do and take on. You could ask anyone beneath me at the time, but I was probably a bit of a micromanager to a certain extent, because I had high expectations for myself and held everyone to that same standard. If I did something wrong or made a mistake, you didn’t have to come down on me, because I would come down on myself. You are here to do a job. You do your job regardless of how small you think it is. We are all working together to do this for our client, to give our client the best reports and the most accurate information.

What brought you to InCheck? That would be Andy and Adam. I used to work for a competitor before I started here, for five years, and let’s just say, it wasn’t going to work out, and I was ready to leave. I updated my resume on a job site, and a week or two later, Andy called and I went in to meet him, and he described the job and it was exactly what I was doing at my job and I was like, “Oh, my God.” I remember coming to InCheck (Verified at the time) to meet Andy after work, leaving to meet my husband and I just about cried. I was like “This is the same thing I do!” and my husband was so excited for me. I came back a day or two later and I was basically hired right on the spot. 9 years later here I am!

What is your favorite InCheck memory? The only thing I can really think of,  is for April Fool’s day one year, Makensie, Megan and I,  put post-its all over Adam’s office, haha. Then Megan and I, basically Megan, I’m putting it on her, we spiked the coffee and put espresso in it.   We finally told Andy and he was like, “That’s why I’m bouncing off the walls!”. That is honestly one of the funnier memories I can remember. There are tons of memories but that one has always stuck out I guess.

What was your first job? Little Caesars.

What are you reading right now? No, I haven’t had time. It’s basically whatever my kids ask me to read. But other than that, no. I used to read true crime.

Do you have any favorite movies or TV shows?  Anything that is a cooking competition-Hell’s Kitchen, Chopped, Grocery Games.  I don’t know if I have a favorite movie. I like Disney stuff, like Cars and Aladdin.

Who are your favorite sports teams?  I have to say the Brewers, but I don’t really watch them, or really any sports.  I like Nascar too. I’ve actually gone to Bristol and watched races there.

Who is someone you admire? I admire a lot of people. Just from a work perspective, not to suck up to the bosses, but to own and run a business and still find the time for a family is something I admire. I don’t want to just pinpoint people who have kids, but now that I have kids of my own, I see things differently. Before I had kids my job was my life. Managing the Verifications team I would work all the time, even when I wasn’t physically at work. Now that I’ve taken a step back to focus on my family-I only work 3 days a week, and I just can’t imagine running a business as well.  Even with some of the people that work here at InCheck who also go to school full time, part-time or have other commitments-I admire them!

Where have you recently traveled to? My husband’s Aunt and Uncle’s farm. We don’t really go on your typical ‘vacation’ but we have always gone up to their farm and that’s my relaxation time. My husband helps out on the farm and I sit in the kitchen and just relax with his aunt.

Where is your favorite place that you have traveled to? I am thinking of more of a moment rather than a particular place. We traveled a lot when I was a kid but we just recently went to DC for my Dad. He was on the Honor Flight as he served in Vietnam, and my brother went along with him.  My mom, my husband and myself actually flew out there to surprise him. He had no clue that we were coming. So, we flew out the night before and they arrived the next morning and we surprised him at the Veterans Memorial Wall. To be able to fly out there to meet him, and spend the day with him, visiting all of the sites, on a perfect 80 degree day, it is something I’ll never forget.

Do you have any goals for the future? Basically, get both of my kids potty trained, haha. That’s a hard one! Personally, to stop smoking and just raise my kids to be good people. My daughter is going to be starting 3k this year and my son is going into 4k, so it’s a big step! Professionally, I would say to just continue to work hard at the job I am doing and maybe learn more areas of the company.

Have you had your 15 minutes of fame yet? I have to say no. If I did, I sure do not remember it.

What makes you interesting? I put everything I can into my job and when I go home I put everything that I can into my family. I’m a mom, so I’m not that interesting, haha.

Do you collect anything? Whatever my kids decide to draw and give to me, haha.

What are some of your hobbies? I started selling kids clothes. I buy kids clothes for cheap and then turn around and sell them to make a little extra money.

Do you have any pets? We have a 6 and a half year old Pitbull/Mastiff.

Final thoughts? It is really kind of cool to see how far InCheck has come.  It makes me wonder what’s next for us? How much bigger are we going to get?!